April 19, 2024, 03:40:55 PM *
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
News: Manky Monkey Motors Merchandise now available Cool Items at cool prices http://www.mankymonkeymotors.co.uk/merchandise.html

Home   Help Search Calendar Gallery Login Register  
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: LATHE  (Read 8111 times)
tracker

« on: September 21, 2006, 10:09:36 PM »

hi all i'm a newbie here so be gentle with me,i'm looking to buy a lathe it must be screwcutting i've looked at the Chinese ones (new) but their lowest speed is to high,so can anybody advise on a suitable machine? I am currently watching e-bay as well.
Manky Monkey
Administrator

« Reply #1 on: September 22, 2006, 11:46:18 AM »

Ah, Reg is probably the chap to talk to. He runs a lathe & milling machine in his garden shed so would have a fair idea of what's suitable for home use. ByzMax has all manner of home machinery too.
Saddlebags works in an engineering shop so uses professional sized machines.
They all drop in here fairly regularly or contact them via the members List.
Welcome aboard by the way!  Wink

On the last freedom moped out of Nowhere City.
graffian

« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2006, 03:29:20 AM »

There is a smart and brown L or M on eblag at the mo comes with 127T changewheel. They are very nice small lathes. There was also a chipmaster that looked OK.
GandMtools.co.uk have a Chipmaster that has been reduced in price. Auctiona can ber a great place to buy stuff, there are places closing, reducing capacity or selling off stuff all the time. I have seen decent gear go dirt cheap, it's best if all the other punters are dealers. a good place to find auctions is machinery market magazine. go on the website and request a free copy. or look on th eonline auction, henry butcher have online auctions on there site.